U.S. News: Ground Zero Settlement


I recently moved into a new apartment, one that has a fireplace, score one for me. In my excitement to try out my new fireplace, I burned some empty boxes that were probably coated with some kind of chemical, and before long, my new place was filled with acrid smoke.

I can only imagine, the horror that must have been the air at ground zero in New York City, and the ill-effects that inhaling this air has had, and continues to have on the health of our heroes, the firefighters, police officers and construction workers whose jobs placed them at ground zero, where they inhaled the fumes and particulates generated by the destruction of entire buildings.

This week, NPR provides us with an audio account (and transcription) of the settlement accepted by over 10,000 plaintiffs, who have each been awarded a sum between 3,200 and 2 million dollars.

Thousands Join Ground Zero Settlement
by Robert Smith
http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=131450757&ft=1&f=1070

Note that NPR has apps for mobile devices:
http://www.npr.org/services/mobile/

Leave a comment